Please send your submissions for Moves and Shakes to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


• Dentons Canada LLP announces that Kevin Burron has joined the firm as partner. Burron joins the construction practice group.

• Dentons Canada LLP announces Robert J. de Guzman, Anthony Cole, Derek Pontin, Kathleen Shannon, Lucas Tomei, and Lyle Zulak to the firm as partners.

• Miller Thomson LLP welcomes Rhea Solis, Katherine MacRae, and Alice Wong to the firm.

• Borden Ladner Gervais LLP welcomes Alan Ross to the firm as partner.


• Branch MacMaster LLP welcomes Lee Mauro, previously of Harper Grey LLP, to the firm.

• Bull Housser welcomes Dan Steiner to the firm as partner and Bryan Millman as associate. Steiner joins the business law group and Millman joins the charities + tax exempt organizations group.

• Borden Ladner Gervais LLP announces that Julie Bogle and Svet S. Savova have joined the firm as associates.

• Dentons Canada LLP announces Stephen Coyle, Michael Stephens, and Scott Wilson to the firm as partners.


• Hill Sokalski Walsh Olson LLP welcomes Richard J. Scott to the firm as senior counsel. Scott was formerly chief justice of Manitoba.


• No current news.


• No current news.


• No current news.


• Former deputy PM Anne McLellan to become Dalhousie University's seventh chancellor.

• Cindy Cormier has been appointed a judge of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (family division).


• Colleen Stockley has been appointed deputy minister of health and Elizabeth A. L. Sanderson has been appointed deputy minister of justice in Nunavut. Stockley was previously the assistant deputy minister (acting) of the professional services branch of the Department of Health and Community Services in Newfoundland and Labrador. Sanderson was previously the assistant deputy attorney general, aboriginal affairs portfolio with Canada's Department of Justice.


• Norton Rose Fulbright announces Pierre-Paul Henrie as the new managing partner in the Ottawa office.

• Gowlings announces that Peter Simeon has joined the firm as partner. Simeon joins the corporate finance and M&A group.

• Borden Ladner Gervais LLP announces that Sandra LeBrun, Sara Lemieux, Eden Alexander, and Alexei Durgali have joined the firm as associates.

• Aird & Berlis LLP announces that Trevor Crowley and Sidonia Loiacono have become partners of the firm.

• Borden Ladner Gervais LLP lawyer Bruce Reynolds leads a review of the Construction Lien Act that will include the examination of payment issues within the construction sector for the Ministry of the Attorney General.

• Justice Lynne Leitch has been awarded the Women of Excellence award by the YMCA of Western Ontario.

• Dickinson Wright LLP announces that Mark Shapiro has been appointed to lead the Toronto-based Canadian practice.

• Justice of the peace Linda Leblanc has been appointed regional senior justice of the peace for the East region.


• No current news.


• Dentons Canada LLP announces Alexandre-Philippe Avard, Anca Neacsu, Scott Rozansky, and Melisa Thibault to the firm as partners.

• ROBIC welcomes Louise Bernier to the firm. Bernier is a patent agent specializing in the field of life sciences.

• McCarthy Tétrault announces Dominic Thérien, Sean Griffin, and Marc-Alexandre Hudon to the firm as partners.

• BCF Business Law announces the appointment of Brigitte Nepveu, Julie Lavigne, and Ilya Kalnish as partners with the firm.


• Miller Thomson LLP welcomes André Poulin-Denis to the firm as associate, previously from Plaxton & Co. Poulin-Denis joins the litigation practice group.

• Robertson Stromberg LLP welcomes Scott R. Spencer as partner to the firm. Spencer will be working in dealing with criminal law, labour law, and education law.


• Chinese law firm 大成 (Dacheng) and Dentons have united to form 大成 Dentons.

• Baker & McKenzie appoints Lucy Alberto, Paul Amberg, Guy Birkenmeier, Hillary Brennan, Jordan Faykus, Holly Files, Tom Firestone, Duffy Lorenz, Valerie Marsh, Trevor McFadden, Lewis Popoff, Joshua Richardson, Mark Roche, Susan Ryba, Daniel Tallitsch, Ryan Vann, and Jennifer Wioncek as partners to the firm. Rekha Auld and Randy Schwartz have also been appointed as counsel.

• Barry Leon has been appointed the commercial judge of the High Court of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) in the British Virgin Islands.

• Gowlings welcomes David Brennan as a partner to the firm. Brennan is part of the capital markets group in the London, U.K. office.

Last updated: February 26, 2015


Latest Videos

More Canadian Lawyer TV...

Digital Editions