Skip to content

Gowlings partner to become new president of Law Society of Alberta

|Written By Gail J. Cohen

James T. Eamon, a partner in the Calgary office of Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP, will be the next president of the Law Society of Alberta. Under s. 12(4) of the Legal Profession Act, Eamon as president-elect, is considered to have been elected.

James Eamon will take over the reins of the LSA next February.
James Eamon will take over the reins of the LSA next February.

The LSA announced the results of its 2014 bencher election yesterday. For the first time, the 2014 bencher election was held entirely online. Voting closed at 4:30 p.m. Nov. 13.

While the LSA made voting easy this year, only 3,632 lawyers (39 per cent) of the 9,291 eligible members took the time to cast a ballot.

There were 39 candidates who stood for election and the following, including Eamon, were elected as benchers for a three-year term commencing Feb. 5, 2015:

Southern District

Adam Letourneau – Lethbridge

Central District

Hugh D. Sommerville —  Drumheller

Northern District

No candidates were nominated in the northern district.


Anne L. Kirker, Calgary

Gillian D. Marriott, Calgary

Donald R. Cranston, Edmonton

Robert W. Armstrong, Calgary

Arman Chak, Edmonton

Kent J. Teskey, Edmonton

Sarah King-D’Souza, Calgary

Anthony G. Young, Calgary

Cal Johnson, Calgary

Kathleen A. Ryan, Edmonton

Nancy Dilts, Calgary

Fred R. Fenwick, Calgary

Dennis Edney, Edmonton

Darlene L. Windwick Scott, Edmonton

Sandra L. Corbett, Edmonton

W.E. Brett Code, Calgary

Julie C. Lloyd, Edmonton

View the full election results here




  • clawbies 2015
    clawbies 2014
  • clawbies 2013
    clawbies 2012
  • clawbies 2011
    clawbies 2010