Skip to content

Feds announce 11 judicial appointments

|Written By Glenn Kauth

The federal government made 11 judicial appointments last week in four provinces.

In Alberta, the Court of Queen’s Bench has four new judges. They include Justice Brian O’Ferrall, who has sat in the provincial court since 2005; Rodney Jerke, former Law Society of Alberta president who practises civil litigation; Peter Michalyshyn, a partner at Chatwin LLP in Edmonton; and David Gates, senior counsel with Justice Canada in Calgary.

In Saskatchewan, Justice Minister Rob Nicholson has appointed a new member of the Court of Appeal: Justice Maurice Herauf, who leaves his position on the Court of Queen’s Bench to take up the new role. Lian Schwann, registrar of the Court of Appeal and registrar in bankruptcy in Regina, replaces Herauf at the Court of Queen’s Bench. Brian Scherman, a partner with Miller Thomson LLP in Saskatoon, joins Schwann at the Court of Queen’s Bench.

Nicholson also made three appointments in Ontario. In Kitchener, James Sloan of Sloan Strype in Waterloo takes a position on the Superior Court bench. Thomas Carey makes the move from his role as a sole practitioner in Mississauga to join the Superior Court in Windsor. In addition, Deborah Chappel replaces Justice R.J. Mazza at the Superior Court’s family division in Hamilton, Ont. A sole practitioner since 2006, Chappel had previously worked in several government roles.

In Quebec, Stéphane Sansfaçon joins the Superior Court bench in Montreal. He had previously been a partner at Prévost Fortin D’Aoust and practised mainly in municipal, environmental, administrative, tort, and civil law.




  • clawbies 2015
    clawbies 2014
  • clawbies 2013
    clawbies 2012
  • clawbies 2011
    clawbies 2010