Skip to content

Popescul named chief justice of Sask Court of Queen’s Bench

Feds appoint five new judges across the country
|Written By Glenn Kauth

Saskatchewan has a new chief justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench. Court of Queen’s Bench Justice Martel Popescul takes the role once current Chief Justice R.D. Laing becomes a supernumerary judge on Jan. 1. Popescul has been at the court since 2006.

The federal government also appointed five new judges across the country on Friday.

Mary Gleason
Mary Gleason has been appointed to the Federal Court bench.

In British Columbia, Robert Jenkins of Vancouver’s Jenkins Marzban Logan becomes a judge of the Supreme Court of British Columbia. He replaces Justice Austin Cullen, who takes up the post of associate chief justice as of Dec. 31. Cullen will replace Justice A.W. MacKenzie, who joins the B.C. Court of Appeal at the same time.

In Ontario, the government named David Broad and Suzanne Stevenson to the Ontario Superior Court bench. Broad, of Siskinds LLP in London, Ont., will sit in Kitchener. He replaces Justice D.J. Gordon, who moves to Cayuga, Ont., on Jan. 1.

Stevenson, meanwhile, replaces Justice A. Hoy, who moved to the Ontario Court of Appeal on Dec. 1. Stevenson has practised with lawyer Robert Martin since 1993 at what has since become Martin & Hillyer in Burlington, Ont. She’ll sit on the Superior Court bench in Toronto.

In Quebec, Clément Samson of Joli-Coeur Lacasse joins the Quebec Superior Court for the district of Quebec. He has been with the firm since 1988. His main areas of practice were civil litigation as well as commercial and administrative law. He replaces Justice J. Lemelin, who became a supernumerary judge on Nov. 8.

At the Federal Court, Mary Gleason takes the spot of Justice Paul Crampton, who became chief justice on Dec. 15. Gleason had been a lawyer with Norton Rose OR LLP since 1986 with a focus on labour, employment, and human rights law. Crampton, in turn, replaces former chief justice Allan Lutfy, who became a supernumerary judge on Oct. 1.




  • clawbies 2015
    clawbies 2014
  • clawbies 2013
    clawbies 2012
  • clawbies 2011
    clawbies 2010