Revealed: Canadian Law Awards winners 2022

See who won out in our third annual law awards

Revealed: Canadian Law Awards winners 2022

The Canadian Law Awards made a triumphant return as an in-person event at a sold-out Arcadian Court in Toronto tonight.

Legal professionals came from across Canada to reconnect with colleagues and peers – and raise a glass to the profession’s finest – at the packed venue.

After being held virtually for the past two years due to the pandemic, this year’s CLAs marked the perfect occasion for the profession to come together and celebrate the success of its best performers over the last 12 months.

Lexpert would like to thank all those who made the event such a roaring success: everyone who attended, our sponsors, our independent judging panel and – of course – our illustrious winners.

Listed below are all the winners announced earlier tonight:

Banking & Financial Institutions Law Department of the Year
Definity Financial Corporation

Canadian Law Department of the Year
Cineplex Entertainment

Capital Markets Deal of the Year
Definity Insurance IPO

Commercial Litigation Case of the Year
Goodmans LLP, McCarthy Tétrault LLP – Cineplex v. Cineworld

Energy & Resources Law Department of the Year

Infrastructure & Projects Deal of the Year
Henvey Inlet Wind LP refinancing

Insolvency & Restructuring Deal of the Year
Groupe Dynamite CCAA and Chapter 15 restructuring

IP Boutique Law Firm of the Year
Smart & Biggar LLP

Law Department Innovation Award

Law Department Leader of the Year
Innes Dey - Definity Financial Corporation

Litigation & Dispute Resolution Boutique Law Firm of the Year
Lenczner Slaght

Litigator of the Year
Nadia Effendi - Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG)

M&A Deal of the Year
Brookfield acquisition and privatization of Inter Pipeline

Managing Partner of the Year
Stephanie Vaccari - Baker McKenzie

Mid-Market Deal of the Year
Agnico Eagle acquisition of TMAC Resources

Ontario Law Firm of the Year
WeirFoulds LLP

Prairies Law Firm of the Year
Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

Pro Bono Initiative of the Year
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG) / Landings LLP - Initiative to support evacuations from Afghanistan

Quebec Law Firm of the Year
Lavery Lawyers

The Bereskin & Parr Award for Diversity Initiative of the Year
Harper Grey LLP - Life in Law (LiL)

The Gowling WLG Award for Female Trailblazer of the Year- In House
Jane Langford - TD Bank

The Gowling WLG Award for Female Trailblazer of the Year- Private Practice
Ena Chadha - Ethical Associates Inc.

The LexisNexis Canada Award for Best Use of Technology in a Law Firm
Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP

The Lincoln Alexander School of Law Award for Shaping the Future
McCarthy Tétrault LLP  

The Singleton Urquhart Reynolds Vogel LLP Award for Construction, Infrastructure and Transportation Law Department of the Year

Western Canada Law Firm of the Year
Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP

See full list of winners and excellence awardees here: 

Recent articles & video

Record general damages award in Alberta sexual harassment case a 'message' to employers: lawyers

Latham & Watkins boosts insurance transactional practice in New York

Evisort’s general counsel Margaret Minister on how technology is attracting more in-house lawyers

Corrs assists Canadian company on Stilmark acquisition

Sidley expands private equity practice with hire of partner Tony Downes

New communication tools have helped collaboration in the legal workplace, webinar attendees told

Most Read Articles

SCC finds rules on use of sexual-assault complainant’s personal information are constitutional

Two BC lawyers disbarred a second time as regulator seeks public’s confidence in discipline process

McGill Law professor François Crépeau named Ordre national du Québec officer

Ontario Court of Appeal asserts jurisdiction in international fraud case