Lexpert Rising Star Awards celebrates more than lawyer's legal skills, past winner Natalie Worsfold

Nominations open for 2023 awards until July 7; voting starts in August

Lexpert Rising Star Awards celebrates more than lawyer's legal skills, past winner Natalie Worsfold
Natalie Worsfold, Counter Tax Lawyers

Natalie Worsfold at Counter Tax Litigators says winning a Lexpert Rising Stars Award in 2022 was much more than being acknowledged as a great tax litigator. It was about being recognized for championing “fresh ways of thinking” and giving clients “the clarity and confidence they need from a trusted adviser.”

It also sends a message to younger lawyers “that you don’t need to be part of a Bay Steet firm to be a Rising Star – it’s your dedication and distinct approach that truly matter.”

When she won her award last November, Worsfold said coming to Canada from the United Kingdom meant she didn’t immediately have mentors to rely on. So, she asked for help from “anyone who would talk to me.” Eventually, she connected with Counter Tax Litigators founder Peter Aprile,” who was writing five chapters for a book on tax law, and eventually joined the firm. She said he became an important mentor in her career.

The idea of getting on the road to recognition is one of reasons why Worsfold is encouraging young lawyers, and their mentors, to be part of the nomination process as Lexpert Rising Stars Awards returns to the stage this fall to celebrate lawyers 40 and under who have made outstanding contributions in their careers thus far, it’s time to nominate rising talent and give them their due.

Nominations are now open for awards that recognize exceptional, young lawyers working in law firms, in-house departments, government, and academia.

Members of the legal profession in Canada are invited to nominate qualified lawyers who have stood out in their chosen career. The nominations are then researched and vetted by Lexpert and Canadian Lawyer staff, and then they are passed along to a judging panel of highly respected members of the legal community.

Voting will commence in August 2023 and the judging panel’s decisions will be impartial, balanced, incisive and fair.

To be eligible for the Rising Stars Awards, nominees must have been born no earlier than 1983. The nomination deadline is July 7, 2023, at midnight EST. You can use this form to nominate someone.

Please note that previous recipients of the Rising Stars Awards are not eligible to be nominated and a potential candidate cannot nominate him or herself.

The winners will be revealed and celebrated at the highly anticipated in-person gala on November 23 at the Liberty Grand venue in Toronto.

There is no fee to submitting a nomination. However only the online nomination form will be accepted. Learn more about the nomination process here. Winners will be notified confidentially prior to the event.

Lexpert Rising Stars Awards is presented by Lexpert magazine and supported by Canadian Lawyer, Law Times and InHouse magazines. The event is brought to you by Key Media, the organizers of a variety of awards ceremonies across Canada for a number of professions, where hundreds gather annually, in person or virtually, to acknowledge the best in class across the nation.

We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Recent articles & video

Exclusion of casino managers from Quebec’s labour regime constitutional: SCC

Yukon Supreme Court orders release of student contact information in class action lawsuit

Ontario Superior Court rejects worker's psychological impairment claim from a workplace injury

BC Supreme Court clarifies when spousal and child support obligations should end

Federal Court of Appeal rejects employee's complaint of union's failure to fairly represent him

Alberta Court of King's Bench rejects Calderbank offer in medical negligence case

Most Read Articles

BC Supreme Court upholds mother’s will against son's claims for greater inheritance

BC Supreme Court clarifies when spousal and child support obligations should end

Federal Court approves $817 million settlement for disabled Canadian veterans

2024 Canadian Law Awards Excellence Awardees revealed