Thank you to our esteemed Advisory Panel for dedicating their time to the 2021 Canadian Law Awards!

The panel was comprised of 78 esteemed private practice and in-house counsel leaders

Thank you to our esteemed Advisory Panel for dedicating their time to the 2021 Canadian Law Awards!

On behalf of Lexpert, Canadian Lawyer and InHouse, we would like to thank our external Advisory Panel who invested many hours reading the large volume of detailed submissions and casting their votes. The score tallies were also verified by PWC — The Official Ballot Accountants.

“Terrific and thoughtful nominations this year and I enjoyed reviewing them. Very inspiring,” enthused one Advisory Panel member this year.

“It is so inspiring to read the submissions — I’m particularly thrilled with how many talented women we have in this country!” raved another.

The panel was comprised of the following 78 esteemed private practice and in-house counsel leaders, who dedicated their time to awarding excellence:

Yonni Fushman, Aecon Group Inc.

Steven Zakem, Aird & Berlis LLP

Melanie Schweizer, Bell Canada

Dominique Hussey, Bennett Jones LLP

Stephen Beney, Bereskin & Parr LLP

Bryson A. Stokes, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Sharon Haward-Laird, BMO Financial Group

John G. Murphy, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG)

Deborah Greenberg, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC)

Olivier Chouc, Canadian National Railway Company

Philip Shaer, Canopy Growth Corporation

Fernando Garcia, Cargojet

Mark T. Bennett, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Kikelomo Lawal, CIBC

Lisa Skakun, Coast Capital Savings

George Cooper, QC, Cox & Palmer

Bindu Cudjoe, CWB Financial Group

Philippe Johnson, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP

Blair McCreadie, Dentons Canada LLP

Peter V. Nguyen, Descartes Systems Group

Robert Seidel, Q.C., DLA Piper (Canada) LLP

Lorne O'Reilly, Dow Chemical Canada ULC

David Gunasekera, DuMoulin Black LLP

Tanya Rothe, D-Wave Systems Inc.

Jeffrey Jay Kay Q.C., Farris LLP

Peter Feldberg, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Hilda Wong, First National Financial LP

Tony Linardi, Golder Associates Ltd.

Dale H. Lastman, C.M., Goodmans LLP

Abigail Turner, Harper Grey LLP

Shari Hosaki, HarperCollins Canada and Harlequin

Lilac Bosma, HSBC Bank Canada

Margot Spence, ICBC

Justin Kutyan, KPMG Law LLP

Av Maharaj, KraftHeinz Canada

Gerry Apostolatos, Langlois lawyers, LLP

Clifford G. Proudfoot, QC, Lawson Lundell LLP

Matthew Gottlieb, Lax O'Sullivan Lisus Gottlieb LLP

Tom Curry, Lenczner Slaght

Anne Spafford, Lerners LLP

Andrew McLaughlin, Major Drilling

Elspeth Hagan, McCain Foods Limited

Godyne N.L. Sibay, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Kevin J. Kiley, McInnes Cooper

Robert Piasentin, McMillan LLP

Janice Payne, Nelligan O'Brien Payne LLP

Michael Ladha, Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Charles E. Hurdon, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP

Ashok Menen, Ontario Securities Commission

Jeff Davis, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan

Emmanuel Pressman, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Gordon Capern, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP

Nathalie Rizcalla, Pelican International

Mark Persaud, Persaud Law Group

Lynn Burns, Pro Bono Ontario

Michael Williams, Richardson Wealth Limited

Kara Russell, Goldsmith Rogers Communications Inc.

Julia Shin, Doi Ryerson University

Lydia Bugden, QC, Stewart McKelvey

Marc B. Barbeau, Stikeman Elliott LLP

Melissa Kennedy, Sun Life Financial

Raphael Tachie, TD Bank

Dorothy Quann, Ted Rogers School of Management

Andrea Wood, TELUS

Dr. Ian Holloway PC QC PhD, The University of Calgary

Keith David LaBossiere, Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

Terra Rebick, Thomson Reuters

Stephen J. D'Agostino, Thomson Rogers

Jeffrey Cohen Torkin Manes LLP

Lynn Korbak, Toromont Industries Ltd

Leola Pon, Toronto District School Board

Karrin A. Powys-Lybbe, Torys LLP

Kerry O’Reilly Wilks, TransAlta Corporation

Mark Le Blanc, TVO

Paul Paton, Q.C., JSD, University of Alberta

Jean-François Legault, VIA Rail Canada

James Kosa, WeirFoulds LLP

Poonam Puri, York University

The whole Lexpert and Canadian Lawyer and team wants to thank everyone who attended, sponsored, and supported the virtual event, and offer a huge congratulations to our winners!

Recent articles & video

Andrew Rudder successfully transitions from Big Firm to Solo Practice

Survey report highlights challenges and solutions for family violence cases in Nova Scotia courts

Suncor's David Kramer speaks about big deals, the energy transition and career advice

Lawyers must be increasingly aware of technological, geopolitical trends: software founder Sean West

Who made it to the 2024 list of top pro bono law firms?

Tracy Davis appointed as Assistant Chief Justice of the Alberta Court of Justice

Most Read Articles

BC Supreme Court rejects husband’s claim against wife’s counsel over family home sale proceeds

Crown attorneys share responsibility for Canada’s dysfunctional justice system

Lawyer salaries may vary more in wake of competition law changes: recruiter report

'We need to have the competence to question:' LegalTech panel on genAI fakes in the legal system