A huge thank you to our Advisory Panel for dedicating time to judge the 2024 Canadian Law Awards

The panel was comprised of 56 esteemed legal leaders

A huge thank you to our Advisory Panel for dedicating time to judge the 2024 Canadian Law Awards

On behalf of Lexpert and Canadian Lawyer, we would like to thank our external Advisory Panel, who invested many hours reading the large volume of detailed submissions and casting their votes. PWC – The Official Ballot Accountants – also verified the score tallies.

See our full list of winners.

The extensive and diverse panel of in-house and private practice judges ensures that all finalists’ submissions are scrutinized from multiple perspectives and that true excellence, innovation, and quality are awarded.

It was the fifth year for the law awards, which launched in 2020 and the second time it was held as an in-person event.

Lexpert and Canadian Lawyer would also like to thank sponsors of the Canadian Law Award, which include: LEAP Legal Software Canada, Dye & Durham, Lawson Lundell LLP, Singleton Urquhart Reynolds Vogel LLP, Toronto Metropolitan University’s Lincoln Alexander School of Law, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada, the South Asian Bar Association of Toronto, and PwC.

The panel was comprised of the following esteemed private practice and in-house counsel leaders who dedicated their time to awarding excellence:

Josianne Beaudry
Partner – Leader of the Business Law Group

Jacqueline Beckles
General Counsel
Department of Justice Canada and CABL- Board Member

Stephen Beney
Managing Partner
Bereskin & Parr LLP

Nancy Brennan
Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer
TransAlta Corporation

Lydia Bugden, KC
CEO & Managing Partner
Stewart McKelvey

Roger Chouinard
Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary
Quadreal Property Group

Jeffrey Cohen
Managing Partner
Torkin Manes LLP

George Cooper, KC
Chief Executive Officer and Partner
Cox & Palmer

Bindu Cudjoe
Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary
Laurentian Bank of Canada and Vice President WGCC

Joanna Dawson
Partner, McMillan LLP
and President of WISTA Canada (Women’s International Shipping & Trading Association)

Martin K. Denyes
Firm Managing Partner
Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Vincent de l’Etoile
Partner, Litigation Group; Member Board of Directors
Langlois Lawyers, LLP

Innes Dey
SVP, Legal & Strategy
Definity Financial

Paul Fruitman
Lax O’Sullivan Lisus Gottlieb LLP

Yonni Fushman
Chief Legal Officer and EVP, Sustainability
Northland Power Inc. and Past Chair Ontario Bar Association’s Construction and Infrastructure Law section

Ratika Gandhi
Head of Legal & Compliance, Canada
Alcon Canada Inc.

Alison Harnick
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary
First Capital REIT And Board Member Women General Counsel Canada

Sharon Haward-Laird
General Counsel
BMO Financial Group

Reggie Hedgebeth
EVP, External Affairs & Chief Legal Officer
Enbridge Inc.

Monique Jilesen
Managing Partner
Lenczner Slaght

Philippe Johnson
Managing Partner, Montreal
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP

Warren M. Katz
Managing Partner, Montréal office
Stikeman Elliott LLP

Kevin Kiley, KC
Managing Partner
McInnes Cooper

Lynn Korbak
General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Toromont Industries Ltd

Arun Krishnamurti
Senior Counsel
Google Canada

Dale H. Lastman, C.M.
Goodmans LLP

Blair McCreadie
Managing Partner, Toronto
Dentons Canada LLP

Melanie McGrath
General Counsel
CBCL Limited

John G. Murphy
National Managing Partner & CEO
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG)

Benjamin Na
Partner and Head of the Advocacy Department, Toronto
Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP

Steven Ngo
Sr. Counsel, Consumer Transactions
Rivian and Chair, Federation of Asian Canadian Lawyers BC

Caitlin Norton
General Counsel
Lafarge Canada inc.

Lorne O’Reilly, KC
Lead Counsel
Dow Chemical Canada ULC and VP & Treasurer and Member of the Board of Directors- Alberta Chapter, Association of Corporate Counsel

Benoit Palmer
Chief Counsel, Canadian Mining Businesses, Legal services
Rio Tinto

Devin Persaud
SABA Toronto

Heather Platt
Chief Legal Officer

Karrin A. Powys-Lybbe
Torys LLP

Emmanuel Pressman
Chair, Corporate Department
Osler Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Clifford G. Proudfoot, KC
Managing Partner
Lawson Lundell LLP

Bruce Reynolds
Co-Managing Partner and Co-Chair – International Construction Projects Group
Singleton Urquhart Reynolds Vogel LLP

Kenneth R. Rosenstein
Managing Partner, Toronto
Miller Thomson LLP

Bo Rothstein
Managing Partner
Farris LLP

Shara Roy
Chief Legal Counsel
Ernst & Young LLP

Thomas Santram
Senior Vice President, General Counsel
Cineplex Entertainment

Melanie Schweizer
Senior Vice-President Legal, General Counsel
Bell Canada

Cinda Serianni
Associate General Counsel
Gilead Sciences Canada, Inc.x

Michael S. Slan
Managing Partner
Fogler, Rubinoff LLP

Bryson A. Stokes
Firm Managing Partner
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Kristin Taylor
Managing Partner
Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Jennifer Teskey
Managing Partner, Canada (January 2024)
Norton Rose Fulbright Canada

Abigail Turner
Harper Grey LLP

Yola Ventresca
Managing Partner
Lerners LLP

Andrea Wood
Chief Legal and Governance Officer

Marisa Wyse
Chief Legal Officer
Rogers Communications

Danielle Young
VP & Chief Counsel, Global Privacy & Cybersecurity

Caroline Zayid
Partner, Litigation Group
McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Recent articles & video

SCC reinforces Crown's narrow scope to appeal acquittal, high bar to show mens rea to prove murder

Final changes to competition laws will require more sophisticated merger analysis: Blakes lawyers

Ontario Court of Appeal upholds paramedics' convictions over death of shooting victim

BC Court of Appeal upholds class action certification in Capital One data breach case

BC Supreme Court awards damages for chronic pain and mental health issues from car accident

BC court declines jurisdiction over property and support in Mexico divorce case

Most Read Articles

BC Supreme Court dismisses applications seeking personal liability of estate executor

BC Supreme Court upholds trust company's estate administration amid beneficiary dispute

Alberta Court of Appeal reinstates sanctions on naturopathic doctor for unprofessional conduct

Government of Canada publishes a report to tackle anti-black racism in the justice system