Thirty lawyers from British Columbia named Queen's counsel

153 nominees vied for the title

Thirty lawyers from British Columbia named Queen's counsel

Recognized for their contributions to the provincial justice system through their legal work, 30 lawyers from British Columbia have been appointed Queen’s counsel.

“Lawyers play an important role in guiding clients through the justice system. Congratulations to each of these extraordinary lawyers and thank you for all you do for British Columbians and the legal profession,” Attorney General David Eby said in a news release.

“Throughout your careers, you have shown good character, professional integrity and continuing dedication to your communities. The honour of Queen’s counsel title is well deserved.”

The newly appointed B.C. Queen’s counsel include lawyers in private practice, government and academia, and have been involved in a wide range of legal practice, including family, labour, criminal and tax law. Some of them have also practised in the areas of public interest advocacy, constitutional law, residential tenancy, seniors’ rights, Indigenous law, employment law, banking, and construction litigation.

For 2021, 153 nominations were submitted for the Queen’s counsel title.

The newly appointed B.C. Queen’s counsel are the following:

  • Debra Anne Carpentier
  • Richard Alexander Ross
  • Robert Clair Claus
  • Rajinder Singh Bhalla
  • Mary Margaret Terresa MacKinnon
  • Richard (Craig) Allen Neville
  • Robert (Bob) Jan D’Eith
  • Kim Jakeman
  • Graeme Keirstead
  • Gregory Arthur Petrisor
  • Barbara Lee Cromarty
  • Karen Evelyn Jamieson
  • Kevin Douglas Loo
  • Marie Potvin
  • Scott Lorne Booth
  • Andrew Ian Nathanson
  • Elizabeth June Rowbotham
  • Jonathan Noel Eades
  • Terri-Lynn Williams-Davidson
  • Thomas Michael Arbogast
  • Geoffrey William White
  • Martha Rans Martha
  • Lesley Ann Ruzicka
  • Karey Marlane Brooks
  • Andrea Margaret Hilland
  • John McInnes Rice
  • Leah Bernadette Marie Fontaine
  • Maegen McCallum Giltrow
  • Alison Maia Latimer
  • Jennifer Jane Lee Brun.

A complete backgrounder on all of the newly appointed B.C. Queen’s counsel can be found here.

The Queen’s Counsel title is conferred annually on members of the legal profession to recognize their exceptional merit and outstanding contributions to the legal community. The designation is governed by the Queen’s Counsel Act and bestowed by the lieutenant governor upon the endorsement of the attorney general. Potential candidates must have demonstrated professional integrity and good character. They must also be members of the B.C. bar for at least five years.

An advisory committee reviews the applications and makes recommendations to the attorney general. The committee is comprised of the B.C. chief justice, the B.C. Supreme Court chief justice, the B.C. Provincial Court chief judge, the B.C. Law Society president, the Canadian Bar Association B.C. Branch president, a B.C. Law Society member appointed by the benchers, and the B.C. deputy attorney general.

Recent articles & video

There are tools to fight 'deep fakes' but there are limitations, OBA webinar attendees told

Alberta Court of Appeal to reconsider decision on disciplinary costs for regulatory bodies

BC Supreme Court awards damages despite credibility and pre-existing condition concerns

Ontario Superior Court requires father to undergo counseling before resuming parenting time

Ontario Court of Appeal increases fine for Dairy Queen in workplace injury case

BC Supreme Court denies application to sue on behalf of father's estate

Most Read Articles

SCC reinforces Crown's narrow scope to appeal acquittal

Ontario Court of Appeal upholds paramedics' convictions over death of shooting victim

Support orders not automatically spent if ‘child of marriage’ hits age of majority: BC appeal court

BC Supreme Court awards damages for chronic pain and mental health issues from car accident